Slowly, but surely…

Slow Cooker Recipe #1

Hey there fellow SlowCookers, & Non-SlowCookers –

I hope you’re all saying warm! This week on the recipe agenda I decided to cook up a storm which includes oven roasted chicken with rosemary, bacon and garlic. Also throwing in a touch of some brown rice and swiss chard.

I don’t know about you, but up until a last weekend I never had never heard of swiss chard. I mean, really, what the heck is this? I thought to myself, ” a piece of chard from Switzerland? That can’t be”, but that is where my mind went. Anyway, I was out at a restaurant with one of my best friends and we saw it on the menu. Deciding to be a bit adventurous, we orded it and crossed out fingers. To our surprise, we loved this new, ‘swiss chard’, and as a result I decided to cook some myself. Two words: Tasty delightfulness.

This weeks recipe was pretty easy, but being a SlowCooker here are a couple tips:

1. Always cook with the fan on ( I have an actual full size fan, not just the oven vent above the microwave) – you know, just in case something starts to burn. [Although, I like to think my food doesn’t actually burn, but rather my fire alarm is just bi-polar].

2. Improvise – sometimes the written recipe just doesn’t work, so try something different!

Check out my final product:

Recipe of The Week

Recipe of The Week

Thanks to all who have followed and ‘liked’ on instagram, commented & posted #SlowCooker photos! Going forward I would love to hear your thoughts, experiences and any cooking requests you may have.

Keep on cookin…

Becca

Leave a Reply

